Let them eat Rolls! “Them” being the yeast-less

Hello darling readers. Yesterday morning me and my wine headache decided we should take full advantage of having a normal sized fully functional kitchen at our disposal by making cinnamon rolls! Real cinnamon rolls. No offense to the fine people at Pillsbury or their delicious and fantastically easy break and bake style rolls but I wanted to get old fashioned. Also I didn’t want to change out of my charming pajamas-and-last-night’s-eyeliner combo that I was rocking to go to the store.

Normally I am deeply in love with my tiny kitchen (the term “in love” here meaning  politely enduring) BUT this weekend I was dog sitting and had my neighbor’s glorious gourmet farm house kitchen all to myself so I sauntered next door, let out the pups after much petting and jumping about, then me and my five pound sack of flour got down to business.

Image

Delicious, delicious business.

I grew up in a household that was very loyal to the above mentioned Pillsbury cinnamon rolls. Nary a Christmas morning went by without my poor mother, who had been dragged out of bed at 6 a.m., popping those bad boys in the oven to kick off our annual Christmas sugar binge. So I had never made cinnamon rolls from scratch nor seen them being made. I had zero idea what went into it so I turned to my trusty Pinterest account!

A quick search showed me that cinnamon rolls (like most breads) require yeast! I do not have yeast, I have never had yeast and apparently if you want to kick it Amish style and make serious cinnamon rolls it also requires many hours of letting dough rise.

I was now suffering from a hangover and deflated hopes and dreams, c’est tragique. But then I searched cinnamon rolls no yeast and everything was alright again. I adapted this recipe from a food.com user (link at the bottom of page)

Image

Ingredients:

Dough

1 cup flour

1 tablespoon sugar

2 teaspoons baking soda

1.5 tablespoons butter

1/3 (ish) cup milk

Filling

2 tablespoons butter

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 teaspoons cinnamon

Glaze

1/4 cup powdered sugar

2 tablespoons milk

Instructions

1. Whisk flour, baking powder and sugar. I know it’s tempting but DON’T skip this step and just toss everything in a bowl. Whisking or sifting the flour allows air in and will help whatever you are baking to be fluffier and puff up a bit (this works for cookies, biscuits, really anything you make with flour). Cut butter into pieces and knead in with your hands until dough has a crumbly texture. Mix in milk (I found I needed a bit more milk but don’t over do it or the dough will get very sticky).

2. Mix brown sugar, butter and cinnamon for the filling until it forms a crumbly mixture.

3. Spread half of the filling into the bottom of a pie pan. Roll out dough on a lightly floured surface until it is a quarter inch thick and spread with remaining filling. Roll up dough and filling and cut into six rolls.

4. Place rolls in the pie pan (be sure the rolls cover the filling in the bottom of the pan or you will have a lot of burned sugar…which is for sure not what happened to me at all) and bake at 400 degrees for twenty minutes.

5. While rolls are baking mix powdered sugar and milk for glaze.

The results

Image

Then simply enjoy a delicious hot homemade breakfast…OR if you are me you can slowly eat the entire pan of rolls throughout the course of the day in between movies on ABC Family.

As always dear readers, have a cocktail for me!

-Audrey

Image

(what my entire Sunday looked like)

recipe adapted from http://www.food.com/recipe/quick-cinnamon-rolls-no-yeast-293243/photo

Leave a Reply

