Is It Just Me Or Does “Hot Toddy” Sound A Little Risque

Hi Readers.

Tonight I am happily cocooned in a blanket watching the mid-season finale of The Walking Dead (so I’m basically super emotional after the trauma AMC just put me through) and sipping on a delicious hot toddy. I’ve decided that this winter is going to be a Whiskey Winter and whiskey means the wonderful world of the hot toddy (for real, the more I write it the more it sounds slightly inappropriate).

But seriously people there is drinking on the line so lets skip all this foolishness and get down to business!

photo 1 (2)
This looks like so many ingredients

1 shot whiskey

honey, cinnamon, nutmeg to taste

tea

squeeze of lemon juice

apple cider

hot water

Instructions
You can play a little fast and loose with this recipe and adjust it to your own taste, I’m just here to provide a steady hand of guidance (steady here meaning buzzed on hot toddies….oh god it’s even worse pluralized).  SO to start I drizzle about a teaspoon or so of honey into the bottom of a mug followed by a sprinkling of nutmeg and cinnamon and a squeeze of lemon juice. If you are fancy enough to have an actual lemon on hand I would use about a quarter of a lemon but if you are like me and you are pretending that a bottle of lemon juice is the same thing as a fresh lemon, a quick squeeze (roughly a teaspoon) will do it.

Fill your mug about three quarters of the way up with boiling water and stir. Add a tea bag (NOT the inappropriate kind cause gross). I would recommend some kind of breakfast tea like earl grey OR  you can do what I did and use the free oolong that comes with your Chinese take out that you’ve never had a use for until this moment. Let that steep for a few minutes (the tea, not my sage words of drinking wisdom).

Heat up a splash (about two ounces) of apple cider and add that and the whiskey to the tea.

Finally drink up! You have earned it, that is a lot of steps and work for a cocktail. I mean you had to turn on the stove and everything, I’m sorry I put you through that. But all your hard work is certainly worth the reward.

photo 2 (2)
(this is the reward)

I garnished mine with an apple slice so it would look fancy in this blog post and I took a really close up photo so you can’t see how messy the rest of my kitchen is, hooray!

Happy Whiskey Winter readers! Have a hot toddy for me!

-Audrey

Leave a Reply

