Keeping Warm in This Ridiculous Cold

If any of you readers are like myself your house was built in the very early 1900’s and subsequently is extremely cold in the winter and extremely hot in the summer. My house is prone to chilly drafts, poor heating and snow drifts during inclement weather.

photo 3 (4)
an actual snow drift building inside my kitchen window,
The window is completely in tact what is happening?

So sometimes the best way for me to supplement a pre-electricity era heating system is to cook something in my stove (or more often pretend I am going to cook something and just let the stove heat up for an hour while I watch an America’s Next Top Model marathon while wearing three Snuggies to keep warm). This time around it was Pecan and Squash soup.

I adapted this recipe from Adventures in Cooking a blog with infinitely better photos than mine, I’ll link the original recipe below.

Ingredients

1 large acorn squash, cut in half and with seed pulp removed
1 tablespoon brown sugar, divided
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 and 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 cup chopped pecans
3 cups chicken or vegetable broth
3 tablespoons honey
1/4 cup cream
1/2 cup Parmesan (optional)
1.Preheat oven to 375 (glorious, glorious heat!) Cut an acorn squash in half and scoop out the pulp. Set, cut side up, on a baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil and rub with salt, pepper and cayenne.
photo 1 (4)
I got some small spice bowls for Christmas. I am extremely excited about them.
2.Divide brown sugar evenly into each half. Place in the oven and roast for 40 minutes. Remove from oven and set aside to cool.
3.Keeping the oven at 375, spread pecans in an even layer on a baking sheet and roast for about five minutes. Keep an eye on them because they will start to burn fairly quickly. (I definitely did not ruin a bag of pecans in this manner and then melt a trash bag when I tried to throw them away). Set aside and let cool.
photo 2 (4)
4.Once the squash is cool enough to handle scoop out the flesh into a blender. Add the pecans, broth and honey and blend until smooth.
5. Pour into a pan and add cream (and Parmesan if desired, I was out so I skipped it). Warm on the stove stirring occasionally and serve.
photo 4 (3)
totally delicious
You can adjust the seasonings to your own taste, I had mine with bread and some shaved Gruyere (it was the only cheese in my house). And if you “forget” to turn off your oven for another hour and your house manages to get over 60 degrees, your secret is safe with me reader.
photo 5 (3)
Gruyere goes with everything
Have a warm-you-up cocktail for me!
-Audrey
Leave a Reply

